About Plant-for-the-Planet

Plant-for-the-Planet is a global movement to restore forest ecosystems to tackle the climate crisis and biodiversity loss. To do so, we empower young people, restore ecosystems, conduct restoration research, provide free software tools and restoration advice for organizations around the world.

We believe that we need to protect the world’s three trillion trees and bring back a further one trillion trees.

We are a partnership of independent national organisations, led by the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation.

The Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation

Org Chart

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors exercises overall responsibility for the policies, programs, and direction of Plant-for-the-Planet.
  • Felix Finkbeiner
    Chairman of the Board of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Michael Durach
    Vice Chairman of the Board of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Fatou Jeng
    Member of the Board of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Dr. Thilo Pfletschinger
    Member of the Board of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Foundation Council

    The Foundation Council oversees and reviews the Foundation in strategic and operational matters.
  • Franziska Finkbeiner
    Head of the Foundation Council of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Gregor Hintler
    Member of the Foundation Council of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Sagar Aryal
    Member of the Foundation Council of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation
  • Image

    Foundation Secretariat

    As the secretariat of the Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation, we support young people in achieving their ambitious goals. Our main activities are: partnerships and donor support, events, academies, our app, the sale of the Change Chocolate, communication and administration.
    Our team
    Annual Reports
    Transparency Reports

    Global Board of the Plant-for-the-Planet Initiative

    Plant-for-the-Planet thrives on the most outstanding children and young people. To spread the word, we have a Global Board with young leaders around the world. They are committed to climate justice and tree planting on a voluntary basis. The Global Board is elected every year.
    Get to know our Global Board members


    We would like to thank our patrons who have accompanied Plant-for-the-Planet from the very beginning.
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Töpfer
  • Plant-for-the-Planet Worldwide

    The Plant-for-the-Planet Foundation partners with organizations in Czech Republic, Spain, Switzerland, Mexico, Italy, and Brazil. There are project activities in many other countries.
  • michal-horacek

    Michal Horáček

    Chairman of the Plant-for-the-Planet Czech Republic Nadace
  • josep

    Dr. Josep Santacreu

    President of the Fundación Plant-for-the-Planet España
  • pirmin

    Pirmin Jung

    President of the Plant-for-the-Planet Stiftung Schweiz
  • mario

    Mario Trevisan

    President of the Associazione Plant-for-the-Planet Italia
  • Juliana Russar
    President of the Associação Plant-for-the-Planet Brazil
  • Restoration Team in Yucatán

    Dr. Raúl Negrete leads Plant-for-the-Planet A.C. (Mexico) and the Yucatán Restoration project. His team’s work is supervised and advised by a four-member "Restoration Supervision Expert Board". 120 people work as part of the project.
    Our team in Mexico
    Org Chart
    Annual Reports
  • Raúl Negrete

    President of the Plant-for-the-Planet Mexico A.C.

  • Scientific Advisors

    Moreover, the activities of the Foundation are guided by a Scientific Advisory Board.
  • Dr. Leland Werden
    Chief Scientific Advisor
    Google Scholar
  • Prof. Dr. Tom Crowther
    Scientific Advisor
    Google Scholar
  • Dr. Colin Averill
    Scientific Advisor
    Google Scholar
  • Prof. Bonnie Waring
    Scientific Advisor
    Google Scholar
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Dr. h.c. Franz Josef Radermacher
    Scientific Advisor
    Research Gate
  • Educational Advisory Board

    The Educational Advisory Board is responsible for the evaluation, consultation and innovation of our educational work with children.
  • Evelyn Araripe
    Scientific Advisor
  • Prof. Dr. Anabel Ternès von Hattburg
    Scientific Advisor